Puerto Rican Beef – Day 25

About half of the recipes that I make are things that I see and think sound absolutely strange. Whereas most people wouldn’t think twice about them, I for some reason am drawn to these types of recipes and they often end up being some of my favorites.

Tonight’s dinner was one of those. I had to try it because when I originally came across the recipe on Everyday Paleo I thought, “Who would think to put green olives, beef, kale and cumin together? That’s either really awesome or really disgusting”.

P1070205

1 lb grass fed ground beef

1 bunch kale chopped

1 white onion sliced

1/2 of a green, red, and yellow bell pepper sliced

1/2 cup pimento stuffed green olives

3 tbsp coconut oil

1/2 tbsp ground cumin

1 tsp ground coriander

1/2 tbsp turmeric powder

1 tbsp dried oregano

Pinch of saffron threads (optional)

Sea salt and black pepper to taste

3 sweet potatoes

In a large skillet saute onion and bell pepper until soft, about 5 minutes. Add ground beef and brown, then add all spices and mix well. Add the kale and green olives, continue cooking stirring often until the kale is tender (about 4-5 minutes). Serve over mashed sweet potatoes.

I actually really really liked this recipe, its definitely not something I would have ever thought to put together on my own. The flavors worked well together though, it was quick and its colorful. Win/Win/Win.

5 days left!

4 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Whole30

4 responses to “Puerto Rican Beef – Day 25

  1. hilary

    I can’t talk to you about food for five effing more days. It’s killing me. COME BACK ALREADY. But I’m happy you’re happy with this experiment/ project. Enjoyed reading your stories. xo

  2. Eleanor

    One of my FAVORITE recipes FOR SURE!!!

  3. Pingback: Whole30 – Day 1 (Again) | Eat to Live, Live to Run

  4. Pingback: Whole30 – Day 1 (Again) | Eat to Live, Live to Run

Leave a Reply

