Chicken & Sausage Spaghetti Squash with Lemon Shallot Coconut Cream Sauce

That’s quite a mouthful of a name. I’m so excited about this recipe that I created tonight! Makes me wish I had actual measurements to give you, but I made this up as I went along.

I started with a chicken breast that I had marinating in a cilantro sauce in the fridge for a couple of days. Steve’s Original PaleoChef Cilantro Ginger Sauce for reference, but I don’t think this step is necessary to the final product. Also, Roasted Red Pepper & Spinach Chicken Sausage, but there again, I’m pretty sure any sausage would do.

casual-gourmet-chicken-sausage1 images

Anyway, I grilled the chicken breast on a cast iron grill pan on each side for about 2 minutes and then cooked in the oven at 375 degrees for 25 minutes.

I cooked the spaghetti squash in the microwave, poke holes in it with a sharp knife and put the whole thing in the microwave for 15 minutes. Then cut in half and scrape the seeds out.

In the meantime I made my coconut cream sauce. Sauté sliced shallots (1 or 2) in a sauce pan then add approximately 1/2 cup of full fat coconut milk, a pat of butter or ghee and the zest of one lemon. Simmer on low.

Slice 2 sausage links and brown in a pan with a little oil, add grilled chicken cut into cubes and about 3 cups of fresh spinach. Using a fork scrape the spaghetti squash “noodles” into same pan and add lemon coconut cream sauce and toss to combine. Salt and pepper as needed.

P1070294

Sooo good!

After a night OFF last night, I’m back on the Paleo wagon.

I felt so heavy and yuck on my run this morning. I had a blast having a special dinner and drinks with friends, so I won’t say that it wasn’t worth it, but its definitely something I need to keep to a minimum.

Have a great night.

1 Comment

Filed under Paleo, Recipes

One response to “Chicken & Sausage Spaghetti Squash with Lemon Shallot Coconut Cream Sauce

  1. Pingback: Nothing in the Fridge | Eat to Live, Live to Run

Leave a Reply

