Running is Really Fun! I Swear!

Sometimes I forget that the reason I do this in the first place is because its actually fun. I’ve had a couple of great long-ish runs this weekend that helped me remember that fact.

Yesterday I ran a local, very small half marathon to support the high school softball team. There were only 15 people registered for the Half Marathon distance but it was a blast because I felt like several of my world’s collided. I had running friends there, work friends and family friends.

The course was a double loop 10K course with a little extra built in for the 21K-ers. My friend Drew and I ran together and intended to keep the pace at my goal marathon pace of 8:45, but we ended up with about an 8:20 pace instead. We both have a hard time holding back.

The course ended up being about a half a mile short, and if it hadn’t been for Drew it would have been a very lonely run after the 10K point with no one behind us in sight … but we still managed to have quite a blast.

46811_416751451735231_79145934_n 1999_556749407686966_1438030645_n

385313_416984835045226_260992362_n

Drew and I passed the time by reciting (LOUDLY) the cheesiest motivational quotes that we could think of each time our Garmin chirped at the mile markers. We alternated turns.

“IT DOESN’T MATTER IF IT’S A 7 MINUTE MILE OR A 14 MINUTE MILE, YOU’RE LAPPING EVERYONE ON THE COUCH!”

“ARE YOUR FEET HURTING? BECAUSE YOU ARE KICKING SO MUCH ASS!”

I’m pretty sure we were insufferable to those who had the misfortune of being near us for the first 45 minutes or so. I couldn’t care less.

Today my normal weekend running buddies set out for their long runs and I just couldn’t bear the thought of not going, so I decided to join them for a few miles. A few turned in to 10, but it was totally worth it! What a freakin’ gorgeous morning!

397557_10200416968730389_294267226_n

The highlight of the whole run was noticing this orthodontist name …

20130127_075408

I have a really hard time running and laughing simultaneously. This one required me stopping for a good minute or two just to fully appreciate the hilarity. It’s also one of those things that I might not have found funny in another situation, but at mile 8 today … oh, it was.

I swear one day I’m going to make a blog that is devoted only to the crazy shit I see while running. So far I have this sign … a squirrel smoking a cigarette (I know, I wouldn’t have believed it if I hadn’t seen it with my own eyes and had witnesses either .. but totally true) and lawn reindeer doing the dirty dirty.

Running really is fun!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

